Opened in December 1984 the mall provides an appealing public space for visitors and residents alike. On most Sundays the area comes alive with the colourful craft markets which have been operating since 1992 showcasing the finest of locally grown produce and handmade articles.
The waterwheel situated at the Baker Street end of the mall is based on the design of James and Benjamin Singleton’s tidal powered water mill which was situated downstream from Wisemans Ferry. Sourcing grain from the Colo and Macdonald River Valleys, the flour was then transported by river to the markets in Sydney.
Along the mall can be seen many examples of nineteenth and early twentieth century buildings some of which were built as residences which were later converted to commercial premises. The former department store Bussell Bros (nos. 153-155) which also had a branch in Penrith was constructed in 1932 and sold a variety of merchandise including grocery items and hardware. Advertisements proclaimed free delivery of orders within 10 miles of the Windsor Post Office.
Pedestrian Mall to be constructed in George Street Windsor between Baker Street, Kable Street and Fitzgerald Street to be opened later in the year.
Please make your comment below. PLEASE NOTE that comments are moderated and only relevant comments will be published